The News India Now

Karnataka Cabinet Expansion: Shettar, Savadi Miss Out as Congress Accepts 6 Lingayat, 4 Vokkaliga

The Karnataka Congress administration finished the process of expanding the cabinet on Friday, finalizing the candidates for 24 cabinet vacancies.
But former chief minister Jagadish Shettar and deputy chief minister Laxman Savadi, who defected from the BJP to the Congress and tipped the Lingayat vote, did not get cabinet positions.
The Raj Bhavan has received the list, and the swearing-in event is scheduled for Saturday morning.
Senior Congress leaders from the Namdhari Reddy community from the Gadag district, Krishna Byre Gowda, who represents the Hebbal seat in Bengaluru, N. Cheluvarayaswamy from the Mandya district, K. Venkatesh from the Mysuru district, and Dr. M.C. Sudhakar from the Chikkaballapura district have all been accommodated, according to an official statement from the CM's office.
Eshwar Khandre, a prominent Congressman from Bidar, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, a Lingayat from Yadgir, Shivanand Patil, a Lingayat from Vijayapura, S.S. Mallikarjun, a Lingayat from Davanagere, and Laxmi Hebbalkar, a Lingayat from Belagavi, have all been chosen as ministers.
Dr. H.C. Mahadevappa, R. B. Thimmapur, and Shivaraj Tangadagi, all members of the Scheduled Caste group and the right-hand man to Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, will also be appointed as ministers.
Included are Scheduled Tribe members B. Nagendra from Bellary district and K.N. Rajanna from Tumakuru district, both of whom are ardent supporters of Siddaramaiah.
Dinesh Gundu Rao, a six-time MLA and former state head, has been appointed to the cabinet and will now represent Gandhinagar in Bengaluru. He is a member of the Brahmin ethnic group.
Mogaveera community member Mankal Vaidya from Uttara Kannada district has been chosen over local Congress veteran R.V. Deshapande.
The cabinet includes Rahim Khan, a prominent Congressman from Bidar who represents the Muslim population. D. Sudhakar, a member of the Jain community from Chitradurga, was chosen for a cabinet position over three-term ST MLA Raghu Murthy.
Santhosh Lad, a member of the Maratha group from Dharwad, N.S. Bosaraju, a member of the Raju BC tribe from Raichur, and Bhyrathi Suresh, a personal friend of Siddaramaiah from the Kuruba community, will all serve as ministers.
To strengthen its roots in the territory of former CM B.S. Yediyurappa, the party has accepted Madhu Bangarappa from Shivamogga. Bangarappa is an OBC member of the Ediga ethnic group.
According to the list, CM Siddaramaiah has surpassed D.K. Shivakumar as his deputy. In the second list, there are six Lingayats, four Vokkaligas, five OBCs, three SCs, two STs, and one representative from each of the Brahmin, Muslim, Jain, and Reddy groups.
Eight cabinet positions have been allocated, taking into account the needs of the Lingayat subcastes. Vokkaligas have five proposals, including the position of Deputy CM. Left and right sub-groups have been granted equal representation, while Dalits received nine cabinet positions.
Three cabinet positions have been given to members of the ST community. Smaller groups have been depicted, such Raju Kshatriyas (Boseraju) and fishermen (Mankala Vaidya).
Since CM Siddaramaiah is a member of the Kuruba community, just one seat has been reserved for him (Suresh). Two ministers (B.Z. Zameer Ahmad Khan and Rahim Khan) serve as the community's representatives, and U.T. Khader has been appointed as the state Assembly's Speaker, becoming the first Muslim to hold that position. Christian and Jain congregations each received one slot (K.J. George and D. Sudhakar).
With a fair and thoughtful allocation of power, Siddaramaiah and Congress have attempted to strike a balance between the regional and communal bases. A suitable representation has also been given to the areas of Mysuru, the core portion of the state, and North Karnataka, which includes the Kittur and Kalyan Karnataka regions.
In addition to Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar, eight other ministers took the oath on last Saturday in Bengaluru: G. Parmeshwara, K.H. Muniyappa, K.J. George, M.B. Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, Ramalimga Reddy, and Ahmed Khan. However, neither one of them has yet received a portfolio assignment.

Related posts

Shiv Thakare offers prayers at Siddhivinayak temple ahead of Khatron Ke Khiladi 13; says his aai is scared of his participation – Exclusive! – Times of India


BCCI central contracts: Richa Ghosh, Jemimah Rodrigues get promotion; Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia dropped | Cricket News – Times of India


PT Usha: Wrestlers Protest on streets amounts to indiscipline | More sports News – Times of India